top of page
javeriammohideen

An Altered Reality

Updated: May 9, 2021





Had I been born in an ethnic, Baluchi family, my life would have been completely different. I presume that I would’ve had too many constraints in my life. I would have been sufficiently educated, barred from exercising my independence and would have been married off early. A distant reality, my life would have been spent within boundaries, where I would’ve tried to break through my shackles. The life of an ethnic Baluchi woman is typically spent within the bounds of their homes where they are left to clean their homes, get married, rear children and look after their families. This is something that I would not have been able to bear. With time, slowly and steadily, I would have gotten tired of my routine and would have wanted to work, become independent and leave behind customs that are restricting me.

I eventually would let go off my inhibitions and would strive to get a job. Working towards my financial independence, I would’ve shifted myself to a metropolis, namely Karachi or Lahore. Eventually, I would have integrated myself into the city life. With time, I would’ve gained independence, realized my potential and found a silver lining amidst all the dullness in my life.



5 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page